Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Windshield washer fluid doesn't spray

Old 04-28-2008, 07:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Windshield washer fluid doesn't spray

Hey folks, newbie here with a quick question: Suddenly, my windshield washer nozzle doesn't spray any fluid, no matter how many times I hold down the lever. The wipers move as directed, but no fluid sprays out. Any ideas what the problem could be?

By the way, I own a 2006 s40 T5. (Not sure if that matters.) Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Old 04-29-2008, 05:59 AM
Default RE: Windshield washer fluid doesn't spray

1st, I presume you have checked the fluid reservoir to make sure it is full.

2nd, locate the fuse for the windscreen washer

3rd, remove nozzle to check if a granule or debris is clogging the orphic

Old 04-29-2008, 07:25 AM

also, check your hoses that run under the hood to the nozzles...one of mine actually came lose and that was my culprit...

Old 05-01-2008, 03:05 AM

False alarm: I forgot to fill the washer fluid reservoir ... bahaha, just joking. But I wish I had been that absentminded, then this fix would be quite easy.

Actually, turns out mcguij1 is right. There's a tiny plastic cap (about the size of a button) for the joint that connects the main hose from the reservoir to the hose that leads to the first nozzle and it popped out. So whenever I pulled the lever, the fluid would give my engine a nice washing but wouldn't reach the first or second nozzle. Any idea where I can purchase this little cap? Or where I can buy the whole joint or replace the whole hose line?

Old 05-01-2008, 07:25 AM

the cap im not sure about but I bought hose that was the similar size to the stock hose at my NAPA store, most place should have it just bring a piece with you...

Old 05-05-2008, 12:25 AM
Default $2.50 fix